UTS Library

11208 & 11209 - Architectural Design: Communications 2 & Architectural Design: Making: Buildings

In this guide:

There are six buildings in your course that you may be assigned. They are:

Guggenheim Lab – Atelier Bow Wow
Kait Workshop – Junya Ishigami
Youth Center – Mi5 Arquitectos
Never Never Land House – Andres Jaque
Solo Office KGDVS
Orquideorama – Camilo Restrepo & Plan: B (sometimes referred to as Plan B
& JPRCR) 

Google

Google is a good place to to find plans for newer buildings and it is especially good for drawings. It isn't as good at finding older building plans or academic literature on the buildings. So it is always worth looking in our databases and catalogue to find academic literature  that will distinguish you from other students 

Books

The first place to look for academic literature on a building is our library catalogue, then the BONUS library catalogue

Tip: If you don't find anything for the building, try searching for the architect.

Academic databases

The library recommends three databases that are useful for this subject, and we've listed them in order of importance.

1. Proquest 
Proquest contains articles and ebooks. You can tab from one to the other after you search. 



For articles you can use the SFX button to see if we have the full text. If you can't find the full text (which will sometimes be in paper form on the library shelves) - use this online ArticleReach formand we'll try and get a scan of the article to you

2. Google Scholar
You'll find some articles here that aren't in Proquest. Use the 'full text @ UTS' link if you see it. Otherwise use the ArticleReach form

3. OnArchitecture
On architecture contains building walkthroughs, videos of exteriors and interviews with architects.

If you would like some more detailed information - have a look at our study guide on how to find building plans