UTS Library

16643 - Property Market Research

This guide is intended to help students of 16643 familiarize themselves with their assignments. If you have any questions contact  david.litting@uts.edu.au / 95143390.

The research process

Inforrmation searching is a cycle - you search and find, you read, you search and find again based on what you’ve read. This graph is not a bad representation of it. This process all takes place in a limited space of time of course. No one has an unlimited amount of time to research and read so effective searching is important.

 
(Image from FXPAL 2015 - http://www.fxpal.com/research-projects/querium/ )

To assist and organize this process a lot of people will first concept map a topic to help them develop synonyms and identify tangents and relationships. Sometimes a researcher will also use an excel spreadsheet to map the searches they've run and also a referencing software to assist them when it comes time to write (see EndNote below for more information about referencing software)

Books

There is a lot of really useful information about the property market in book form. Books tend to be general in focus, and are especially good for building up knowledge on a subject from a low base.

Books are found using the library catalogue

You can find more print books in BONUS+ too.

Finally, databases like Proquest contain ebook content and have the advantage of being full-text searchable.

Journal Articles

Articles are good resources for case studies, and locating applied examples of theories in practice. The scope of articles tends to be small and localised, ie: examining property market trends in high rise buildings in Hong Kong in the past 5 years.

Google Scholar is a good place to look for articles on this topic, for a few reasons:

  • It catches material from many UTS subscription databases – legal, technical, humanities based – all in the one search.
  • It’s good for Australian content.
  • It contains material published in house by unis and institutional bodies that might not be available in a database, or hidden amongst the clutter of Google web.
  • Google scholar also does citation counting, which can show you the impact of a paper or book.

Apart from Google Scholar there are two databases that contain the most content for your subject. Both contain a mixture of news and scholarly articles. Proquest also does PHD theses. Both of these databases let you do more complicated searching than you can do in Google Scholar, and they let you restrict your search to 'peer reviewed' literature.
Business Source Complete
Proquest

Beyond those two databases are a half dozen more that have smaller, though high quality collections:
Taylor and Francis, Emerald, Sage Journals, Scopus, Springerlink

Specialist Databases

IBISWorld - Contains industry analysis for Australia, market players, market segmentation, competitive landscape, industry outlook etc. There are real estate reports in here - real estate services in Australia and also real estate valuation services in Australia.

Company 360 - Information about the size and performance of Australian companies, both private and public.

Statista - a useful source of graphs and statistical dossiers on various worldwide subjects. Good for presentations. 

LawNow LawNow contains Australian state and federal legislation. Using the browse function is the easiest way to track down information, I find.

For legal questions contact our law librarian Seraphina.Goldsmith@uts.edu.au

EndNote

EndNote is a piece of referencing software available for free via the library. It can grab referencing information from the internet (you can create your own too) and then place it into your Word document when you are writing. Mendeley and Refworks are similar softwares that perform the same task. These softwares allow you to keep track your research, keep documents handy for later consultation, and most importantly save you time when it comes time to make reference lists.

Lynda 

Lynda provides tutorial videos for all manner of software, including Excel.

Grammarly

Finally there's Grammarly which will help you improve your academic writing.