UTS Library

17778 - Capstone Project

This guide was created to assist students of 17778 find resources relating to their course.  The resources on this guide are divided up into readings, articles and reports and real estate market information. Guide by david.litting@uts.edu.au / 95143390

Please note - as Postgraduate Students you are entitled to interlibrary loan. You can use interlibrary loan to source books and articles you cannot obtain through UTS Library or through the BONUS book borrowing network.

Readings & Books

There is only one textbook for this course - The history of financial crises : critical concepts in finance

Further readings can be found in your subject outline - most are books - to access them paste the title of the book into our catalogue

You can use the BONUS family of University Libraries and Ebrary to find more books on topics you are interested in.

Articles and Reports

These databases are ranked in rough order of preference (exluding Google Scholar which could be as high as number 1 depending on your search) 

Proquest - A great multidisciplinary database and the largest in this list. Contains some things the databases below don't contain, such as ebooks, reports and doctoral theses. There is a box on the left of the search screen that will let you refine your results to reports and/or scholarly articles should you want to do that. 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reports include company profiles of real estate investment firms as well as country based real restate reports

 

 

 

 

 

 

Taylor and Francis Journals - Taylor and Francis is a major publisher of scholarly material in the social sciences and has some deep holdings of peer reviewed articles on real estate investment. All the citations found here should have a pdf attached.

Wiley Online Library - Wiley is a good database for articles about real estate investment, testing well across the topics covered in your subject outline. It's all peer reviewed articles with pdf's attached. 

The next best article databases for the subjects covered in your course are ScienceDirect and Emerald, in that order.

If you want a really powerful search, try Google Scholar as it sources materials found in the above databases as well as material published in house by universitites and organizational bodies. It counts citations too.

Real estate market and company information

In addition to the reports offered by Proquest there's these information sources (in no real order of preference)

Factiva - Factiva is a news and business information database. Using the subject refinement below the search area you can type in real estate to restrict your searches to a variety of real estate related topics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mint Global - Another public & private company information platform like Company 360, but this one covers international companies too.

IbisWorld - Australian industry reports and some worldwide industry reports(including Real estate services and construction) containing key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast, major industry participants and more

CEIC
CEIC Data provides time series data by sector and country to enable macroeconomic analysis, trend monitoring and economic forecasting. It allows users to create charts, or download data to Microsoft Excel for in-depth analysis.

Connect 4
Annual reports for Australian companies going back to the early 1990s.

Company 360
Provides in-depth business information and analysis on Australia's leading 50,000 private and public companies

Datanalysis Premium (MorningStar)
Comprehensive accurate information on all ASX listed and delisted companies including financial information.