UTS Library

54090 Communicating Health and Science : Health

In this guide:

CINAHL 

(Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to a wide variety of nursing and allied health topics. Tutorial: PICO CINAHL

Medline 

Covers the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Tutorial: PICO Medline

EMBASE  

A biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.

MeSH terms

A lot of medical databases use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) terms rather than keyword searches. MeSH are a controlled vocabularly, meaning that articles are classified and grouped together because they've been evaluated and found to be relevant to the term. If you're not sure about what MeSH terms are appropriate for your search, you can use a MeSH browser

It's a potentially powerful way of finding relevant articles and works best when your topic is around well-established concepts like diseases and populations. It doesn't work so well for newer topics and those that cross disciplines.

For example, if I searched in Medline using the terms 'Childhood Obesity', I would get the suggestion to search using the term "pediatric obesity", as this is the controlled vocabularly of the MeSH headings.