UTS Library

57011 - Research and Reporting

This guide aims to present resources useful to the postgraduate journalism student, what they might be used for and also how to use them. Guide prepared by David Litting. david.litting@uts.edu.au / 95143390

* As postgraduate students you all have access to a service called InterLibrary loans. This service will provide books and journal articles (and more) to you that exist beyond what UTS owns or can provide you. To order something from InterLibrary Loans use this form.

Resources

BOOKS and SUBJECT READINGS

The Library Catalogue is where you will find your subject readings and also books. Type in the name or number of your course or book (ie 57011), or write the topic you are interested in to get results. Online material is available. If you can't find enough material or a particular book, or if a book you want is on hold - try the BONUS+ catalogue. BONUS+ books take 3-9 days to arrive, depending on the library that supplies the book.

NEWSPAPERS

There are two main providers of newspapers via the library, Newsbank and Factiva. Newsbank is easy to search, and has great Australian newspaper holdings. Factiva is a little harder, but has fabulous international newspaper holdings. There are only 20 concurrent licenses to Factiva, which means that if 20 people are using Factiva at any one time, no one else will be able to get on until someone else logs off.

The most important thing to remember with Factiva is not to put words all together unless you want them searched in that exact order. So, if you want to search for something about Bronwyn Bishop and travel search for it like this
Bronwyn Bishop AND travel

For older newspapers you can also look at the archival news records 1803-1954 made available by the National Library's trove database. We also have the Sydney Morning Herald going back to 1955 online.

The library has  tutorial videos on Newsbank and Factiva that you can watch to remind yourself of how to search them. They aren't long :)

TVNEWS

TVNEWS is a search engine for Australian TV news broadcasts across a range of channels and programs. It's easy to use. The holdings only go back a few years but the content is very good.

In addition to TVNEWS there is also EduTV which contains free to air and cable tv, including digital channels, running back to as early as 2008 in some instances. 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

The library recommends two journal databases as useful places to start when looking for articles about journalism, SAGE Journals and ProQuest. For more see our Find Databases page list for journalism

SAGE Journals Online contains all scholarly articles, and is all full-text. It's smaller and more focu sed than Proquest meaning it's easier to find material in. It's very strong on new media articles especially. We have a video tutorial about SAGE databases too.

ProQuest - is much larger than SAGE, meaning that it's good for harder to find subjects, but requires more time to look through. Proquest also contains a range of materials from scholarly articles to magazines, news and even PHD theses. This video will introduce you to it.

Google Scholar - Is a way of searching across numerous databases. It usually returns the largest result sizes but has fewer controls that let you sort through your results. Google Scholar is especially useful for Australian focused searches on obscure topics. Use the link provided to access Google Scholar with UTS holdings plugged in via the 'full text @ UTS' link.

DATA VIZ!

Data visualisation is an increasingly big thing in journalism. If you are data savvy it will give you an extra feather in your cap. I recently attended a really cool presentation from the Guardian's Nick Evershed where he detailed some wonderful things you can do without any advanced computer knowledge, so I thought I'd attach it here if you are interested.

We also have a Lynda playlist on data visualization

TWITTER, FACEBOOK, GOOGLE: ANALYTICS

As you are no doubt aware Twitter is an exceptionally effective way to browse for breaking news. Here is an article explaining ten ways in which twitter is good for journalists
To help you breakdown events, and trends, and identify important people to follow for more news about a topic, there are lots of various tools out there. This Journalists Toolkit page is pretty up to date and compiles a lot of them - 

Google Trends is another way of imaging the rise (and fall) of various subjects in the public eye and quantifying that in some way.

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Datajournalism tutorial.pdf873.24 KB