Find databases tool
Use the Find Databases tool > Communication > Media for a full listing of databases on media.
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary coverage of general academic disciplines. Good for film analysis, digital media, music and mass media especially.
Multidisciplinary Australian database. Not huge holdings but good for Australian specific information. Can be broadened using the Informit Complete entry point, which searches APA-FT along things like AUSTLIT, which is good for articles about Australian literature.
- Wilson Art Full Text
Visual arts and media. Can be combined with Academic Search complete for a really big and powerful search if you enter via the EBSCOhost portal.
- Communication Abstracts
Indexes communication related subjects. Also an EBSCO database and so you can combine with Academic Search Complete and Wilson Art via the EBSCOhost portal.
- Communication Studies SAGE Full Text
Full text coverage of 16 SAGE communication journals. All full text and all peer reviewed, and a really focused collection on the sociology of mass media consumption.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
International fulltext coverage of humanities and social sciences. Contains relevant journal titles like Velvet Light Trap, Projections: Journal for Movies and Mind, and Media International Australia.
- Film Index International
Indexes films, filmmakers, actors and personalities. Look up a movie title and you will get a list of journal articles written about it, as well as crew lists and more.
- Project MUSE
Full text coverage of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies and political science.
- Sage Journals Online
Contains Communications Studies but expands the collection to include additional humanities focussed content.
Full text coverage of Elsevier journals, including technology and new media.
Kanopy is streaming database portal. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural
sciences, social sciences, and teacher education
- Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online is described as a 'visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture'. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films
- American Film Scripts Online
The scripts of feature films chosen by criteria such as the film or screenplay winning a major award ; the film was critically acclaimed ; the
screenplay has historical or sociological significance ; it is part of the genres such as Film noir, Silent movies of the 1920's or a work by a key writer
like Paul Schrader.
- Simply Scripts
Artstor has some great art and design images, that may serve to inspire you.
- Britannica Image Quest
This is a huge image database, contained within it is the Getty Images Collection and content from the British Museum, and more. Well worth a look.
- Grove Art Online
Not as big as Britannica, and more focussed on art. More pictorial art than photography. Also has a reference section with definitions, a bit like an encyclopedia.