UTS Library

Media Arts: Finding Films and Scripts

In this guide:

This guide is here to help you navigate your way around resources for the study of film, film making and scriptwriting. Let's take a look at some of the most common questions we get asked about film here at the library...

 

How do I find film scripts?
We have a couple of good script databases: Simply Scripts and American Film Scripts Online. American Film Scripts is a database the library subscribes to, and contains just American movie scripts. It's quite comprehensive. Simply Scripts is a free website, and contains non American film scripts, as well as TV and anime scripts, and also treatments.  Both are really great resources, with lots of content, and are easy to search. You can search both by script title or by author.
If you have a particular movie script in mind and can't find anything elsewhere you can always try entering the title of the movie into our catalogue, too.

How do I find films on DVD?

All the movies the library owns are available via the catalogue. You can either type in the name of the film you want or search for 'feature films' to browse.

What about foreign films?
This is just like the above but with one extra step. First search for feature films, restrict to video/dvd and then restrict again to the language you are looking for. A search for Spanish language films can be seen here.

How do I find films on Streaming video?
Finding our streaming videos is similar to finding foreign film. Search for either a title or feature films and then restrict to video/dvd then restrict again to online. What you'll see can be found via this link. Because streaming movies are expensive our collection is quite small at present.

For other streaming content including documentary content and technical videos try searching for a keyword and then refining by video and then online. Or you can browse some of our dedicated streaming content - Kanopy, Filmmakers Library Online (documentaries), Ethnographic Video Online (documentaries about social science topics)

And did you know the Australian Film Television and Radio School streams all its student work for free via its catalogue? Just use the drop down search option to select 'AFTRS Student Projects' before searching and you can't miss!

How do I find a source of articles on a film?

We have lots of great databases that contain lots of academic articles discussing films, both from a technical and artistic standpoint. The ones we recommend most highly are:

Proquest Research Library - The Arts - A really big database with a lot of full text. Has a mixture of news, magazines, trade journals and scholarly content but you can restrict your search to see only the types of literature you prefer.
Ebscohost - Is a big list of databases owned by Ebsco. We recommend you select 'Ebsco Research Databases' once you connect and then choosing 'Academic Search Complete' and 'Communication and Mass Media Complete' from the list. Its size and features are very similar to Proquest, but it might be ever so slightly smaller.
Sage Journals Online - Not as large as the above two, but what is there is great content - all full text and all peer reviewed.

.. In addition to these three there is also Film Index International. This resource is like IMDB in that it provides information on movies and the filmmakers, authors and technical staff who made them, but it also has a list of articles and reviews written about every movie contained in the database. Use the little red 'SFX' icon to try and access the full text of the articles. For information on how to use SFX, try this video tutorial we've made.

 

If you want information on filmmaking techniques..

Books are probably the best way of teaching yourself filmmaking techniques, so try and pop words describing what you are after into the catalogue. Eg: documentary filmmaking, film lighting, film editing etc.

 

Still can’t find what you need? Try…

BONUS for books

Google Scholar for articles

Youtube might have a short films you are struggling to get your hands on …

Or, ask one of your friendly Arts and Social Science Librarians!