UTS Library

Non Fiction Writing 57031

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This guide is meant to remind you of all the fun times we had at the library looking for information about a celebrated living person. If you have any problems finding what you need or can't make any of these services work, please contact this page's author: david.litting@uts.edu.au / 95143390

Places we visited: 

The Library Catalogue and BONUS

The Catalogue and BONUS are both book resources in the main. BONUS is a group of other university libraries that lend their books to us. Allow a few days for delivery. If you need a book that isn't found in either of these places, you can use the interlibrary loans form.

Sydney Morning Herald Archives

This archive contains Sydney Morning Herald and Sun Herald articles from 1955-1995. It can be searched by date, keyword or time period. It is accessible through the Library catalogue.

Trove

Trove is the National Library of Australia's database. It contains amalgamated records from all Australian libraries. A lot of the material found within won't be readable immediately, but a lot of it can be ordered via interlibrary loans. You will likely need to use the left hand table of refining options to sort through the size of results available (ie: refine by sound file, thesis, etc). Trove also contains digitised magazines and newspapers, although the digitised news likely won't cover recent years of the major newspapers. For this you will need...

Newsbank and/or Factiva

Newsbank is an Australian specific database that covers all the major newspapers back to the 1990's. Factiva is an international database containing news from all the continents, and a lot of business information also. Remember to use capitalised AND, OR and NOT to build searches in Factiva.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar will find a range of materials, from book citations to scholarly articles, and papers published by organizational bodies. Its useful for searching for obscure topics, especially obscure Australian topics. If you use the link to Google Scholar provided, you will be able to log on with your UTS credentials and use the FULL TEXT @ UTS button to access material that wouldn't otherwise be free.  

Google News

Google News will find scanned copies of a large amount of newspapers from around the world. It contains archived articles, from the late 19th century onwards. Google News can be searched as a whole, and individual newspapers can be searched. Searches can also be limited according to time and location.

Informit Complete

Informit complete is an Australian database and would be your first port of call for information about an Australian person. More generally, Proquest and SAGE are good databases for humanities students

If you find an article out there you can't read for free, use the articlereach form

ABS

It can be a bit hard to use, but the ABS is a good place to go for any sort of Australian statistics, should you need them.  

Australian Dictionary of Biography

 The Australian Dictionary of Biography contains records on prominent Australians and covers the period from colonisation to people who died in 1990. The Dictionary is good for finding thourough descriptions of Australians, and provides newspaper and scholarly references for each entry.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a database which contains material good for historical context. It contains material such as biographies, as well as books, journals and pamphlets.

State Libraries

State libraries are a good source for finding local information such as immigration records, photographs, maps, census data, articles and books. Some information is available through the Library's website, but some may have to be ordered through BONUS or InterLibrary Loans.