Find databases tool
Use the Find Databases tool > Communication > Public communication for a full listing of databases on public communication.
If you are having trouble finding what you need with any of the databases below why not try our Find Articles search engine or Google Scholar - these search engines combine many databases together, and draw from literally millions of articles to provide you with the best chance of finding that elusive article.
Full descriptions for each database are available from the More Info icon.
- ABI Inform (Proquest)
ABI Inform is a huge business focused database, containing innumerable articles to do with PR.
- Sage Journals Online
Sage is an all full-text, all peer reviewed journal article database containing thousands of recent articles to do with public relations. Tends to focus on the cultural rather than the business aspects of the industry.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco)
An international fulltext business database. It includes many leading communication journals. As this is an EBSCO database it can be searched concurrently with other databases useful for PR like Communication and Mass Media Complete and Academic Search Complete via the EBSCOHost page
- Taylor and Francis
Like Sage, an easy to use, all full text and peer reviewed database with a nice blend of business and humanities content, including PR.
- World Advertising Research Center
An invaluable resource if you are interested in marketing segments and product advertising worldwide.
- Marketline Advantage
Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
Here is a list of leading academic journals in this area, and the databases that index them (in brackets).
- Asia Pacific Public Relations Journal (Informit database)
- Academy of Management Review (Proquest, Business Source Complete)
- Australian Journal of Communication (Informit)
- B&T: Advertising, Marketing and Media Weekly (Business Source Complete)
- Business Ethics: A European Review (Ebsco, Wiley)
- Communication Research (Gale, Sage, Ebsco Online)
- Howard Journal of Communications (Ingenta, Taylor and Francis)
- Human Communication Research (Wiley, Ingenta)
- Journal of Advertising Research (Business Source Complete)
- Journal of Business Ethics (Business Source Premier)
- Journal of Communication (Wiley)
- Journal of Communication Management (Emerald)
- Journal of Consumer Research (Business Source Complete)
- Journal of Mass Media Ethics (Informaworld)
- Journal of Public Relations Research (Business Source Premier, Taylor and Francis)
- Media Culture and Society (Sage)
- The Public Relations Journal (Gale, DOAJ)
- Public Relations Strategist (Proquest)
- Public Relations Tactics (Business Source Complete)
- Technical Communication Quarterly (Ebsco research complete)
SFX is one way to access electronic journals the Library subscribes to in your subject area. Choose category and subcategory you are interested in and this will allow you to browse the electronic journals that the Library has in its collection.