Leaderboard menu

UTS Library

[node:field-reference-guides:title]: Books

The Age of Dualization

Global trends 2025 : towards a transformed world

This book examines the international system - as constructed following the Second World War, which will be almost unrecognisable by 2025 owing to the rise of emerging powers, a globalising economy, a historic transfer of relative
wealth and economic power from West to East, and the growing influence of non-state actors.


Markets of English

Markets of English : linguistic capital and language policy in a globalizing world

The global spread of English both reproduces and reinforces oppressive structures of inequality. But such structures can no longer be seen as imposed from an imperial center, as English is now actively adopted and appropriated in
local contexts around the world. This book argues that such conditions call for a new critique of global English, one that is sensitive to both the political economic conditions of globalization and speakers’ local practices.

eBooks

  • Ebrary | Ebrary is a cross disciplinary e-book collection of more than 12,000 titles. Each title is also listed in and accessible from the catalogue.
  • NetLibrary | NetLibrary eBooks are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,407 publicly-accessible titles.
  • Oxford Reference Online | Oxford Reference Online provides online access to a range of dictionaries and reference titles which includes "The Oxford Companion to Australian History" and THE "Visual English Dictionary". NEW: 20th CENTURY TIMELINES...SEARCHABLE ILLUSTRATIONS...
  • Oxford Scholarship Online | Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of hundreds of books published by Oxford University Press. Access available to: Philosophy, Political Science, Religion.