UTS Library

Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Datasets

In this guide:

There's a huge amount of freely available GIS compatible data out there. Below you can find some links to data sources, filed by location. Click on the accordion links to expand the lists.

New South Wales

Data NSW 
Contains Spatial Data on NSW in KML form

Land and Property Information
Contains information on land titles. Contains the NSW Spatial Data Catalogue 
(Maybe you guys can help me out with a description of what these guys can do?)

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Data portal
Contains data about landscover, vegetation, wetlands, soil and more.

NSW Planning and Environment Open Data page
Contains land zoning, height of buildings, floorspace ration, heritage areas.

SIX Maps 
Spatial Viewing tool that includes cadastral, topographic, imagery, place names and addressing data.

Transport NSW’s open data portal
Contains timetables, OPAL data, real time running data for buses, ferries light rail and trains in NSW

Australia

ABS
Australian Bureau of Statistics offerscensus and population data, amongst other things.

AEC spatial data
Australian electoral boundaries.

Australian Mines Atlas
Locations and types of mines across Australia

Bureau of Meteorology
Contains rainfall and weather information

CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere
Contains marine spatial and atmospheric data.

data.gov.au
National datasets portal. Contains geological, geographical, ecological and administrative GIS data. Also contains theNational map which overlays spatial datasets, population, land use, forest data and more.

GEOCommunity Data Catalogue
A portal to Australian and state based GIS resources

Geoscience Australia
Contains flood plain data, stratigraphic units, marine spatial information as well as a host of other geographical and geological datasets. Also contains FIND , the Australian government’s spatial data catalogue.

National Pollutant Inventory 
Contains data on facility emissions, facility transfers and diffuse emissions.

USA

Bureau of Land management
US Geospatial Data.

Data.gov
US portal for data in many different fields – environment, energy, finance, government and more. Contains nearly 200,000 datasets.

Geolytics
Provides US demographic data with built-in mapping capabilities that create thematic maps for instant spatial display of demographic information.

MIT Geoweb –
Portal with a range of different US based datasets.  Contains some material that won’t be publically accessible but also contains free GIS material supplied by MIT and other US universities

National land cover database 
Documents land cover in the US and its change over time.

Rest of the World

ARCGIS open data 
Searchable open data portal containing 60000 datasets.

Aster global elevations 
Global elevation map

Atlas of urban expansion
Charts the growth of cities worldwide.

Bioclim world climate data 
Temperature and rainfall data worldwide.

British geologic data
Geological maps of Great Britain.

CGIAR CSI Global Climate data
Historic Climate database.

CS Shapes 
Historical country boundary maps from WW2 onwards

DIVA GIS
Worldwide spatial data searchable by country.

ESRI data and maps
lots of European and North American datasets, including night maps, highways, cities, demographics, gdp… shopping centres, water and more.

Global administrative boundaries
Country by country administrative areas worldwide.

International threatened species
Assessments for just over 76,000 species, of which about two-thirds have spatial data.

Land information new zealand
Topographic maps.

Landscan Global Population Database (via UTS Library)
Landscan charts population density and movement worldwide. 

Natural Earth
Vector and raster map data

Openstreetmap
This crowd-sourced map containing basic infrastructure data for places such as transportation, building outlines and location, natural features, and points of interest.

Socioeconomic data and applications center by NASA
Contains a range of datasets – population density, administrative areas, land and water, animal distribution and more.

United Nations Environment Program
Holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.

World oil and gas resources
Oil gas and coal resources worldwide.