This page aims to put together a collection of databases to do with all aspects both technical and creative to do with the study of Industrial Design.
Design Focus
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
DAAI is the major source for design fields and designers, including design firms. This is a Proquest Database and can be searched alongside Art Bibliographies modern if you search for the ProQuest Research Library: The Arts database
Tutorial - Art Bibliographies Modern
Art Abstracts covers major art fields including fashion, photography and design. It's collection of material is only about a fifth the size of DAAI but as this is a Proquest Database and can be searched alongside DAAI if you search the ProQuest Research Library: The Arts - Sage Journals
Contains the journal Ergonomics in Design
Science & Technology
- Science Direct
Environmental science and technology journals, materials science, engineering, computing and more. Includes the journals Design Studies, Materials & Design, Computer-Aided Design, Technovation.
Tutorial - Wiley Online Library
Environmental science, ecology, polymers and materials science, engineering and more. Includes the journal Human Factors and Ergonomics in Manufacturing and many others.
Tutorials
Multidisciplinary
- JSTOR
JSTOR is the primary database for design research. It spans many disciplines, and is good for industrial design topics. All full text.
Tutorial - Expanded Academic ASAP
Covers a wide range of subjects including some industrial design, particularly ergonomics. Contains journal titles like Applied Ergonomics, 3d Research and Advanced Materials and Processes. - Academic Search Premier
A super versatile database that has a reasonably good stock of ID content. Contains journal titles like Industrial Engineer, Design Studies and the Journal of Engineering Design amongst many others. Combine this database with EBSCO Art Full Text and Business Source Premier for even more Interior Design Journals.
Click here for a demonstration - Proquest Discovery
A colossal database covering every conceivable subjects including including industrial design. Good for tricky searches. Also contains PHD theses and news.
Tutorial
Ebooks
-
CRC Netbase
Has a pretty interesting collection of materials science ebooks useful to the student of Industrial Design
