UTS Library

42908 Engineering Project Preparation: Industry Information

In this guide:

Industry Reports

  • Gartner: is the industry-leading consulting firm providing independent research and analysis on a wide range of Information Technology topics, providing insightful and practical advice from around the world and covering a varied set of topics including Asset management, Web Services, Emerging trends and technologies and Regulatory Compliance.
  • Frost & Sullivan: In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation. Covers 1998 to present, updated as new reports are produced.
  • Marketline Advantage includes company and industry reports and news updates.
  • Company360DatAnalysis Premium, and Factiva give detailed company information. 
  • MintGlobal has comprehensive information about large and very large international companies. 
  • IBISWorld gives good overviews for Australian companies.

Market information

How to find information on a particular market, for example the soft drink industry in Asia and Australia. Passport GMIDMintGlobalMarketline Advantage and WARC (world's most comprehensive marketing information service) are good sources of this kind of information.
 

Industry Legislation

Government websites and some nonprofit organisation websites can be helpful by providing relevant facts and information on your topic, e.g. industry news and legislations. 

Patents

  • AusPat (Australian PO)
  • esp@cenet covers close to 100 million documents from 92 different countries, including complete backfiles from many (including non-European) countries
  • PATFT (USPTO)

More information on search patents

Standards

  • Australian Standards Online provides the complete collection of current Australian standards and a part of ISO standards.
  • ASTM Standards Source Online provides 12,000 plus standards covering metals, petroleum, construction, the environment and more.
  • IEEE standards. Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. Standards available from IEEE Xplore database.** IEEE Xplore provides a series of recommended training modules.

more information on finding standards

Statistics

Statistical information is used as evidence to support your findings or viewpoint.  It can be in the form of tables, figures, charts or spreadsheets taken from a reliable source.

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. This is a government organisation providing free access to a wide range of Australian statistical data on various themes from IT, environmental issues to financial statistics.  It also provides links to International statistics from Other Statistical Agencies.
  • IBISWorld — Australian industry research reports with key statistics.
  • OECD iLibrary.  This statistical database gives access to a broad range of interactive and comparative data for OECD and some non OECD countries.
  • Statista Technology & Telecommunication statistics; Internet usage; iPad & iPhone sales;

more information on finding statistical data

Video tutorial:

How to reference a website