UTS Library

Communication for Engineering & IT: Articles and Conference Papers

In this guide:

Find Databases tool

Use Find Databases on the library homepage to view a more extensive database list with descriptions to help you decide which is the most relevant for your current assignment.

Scholarly and professional articles

The Yale University website explains of the difference between academic and popular sources. The decision to use popular or academic sources will depend on your target audience and your topic.  A specialised academic topic will require scholarly resources, sometimes called peer reviewed resources.

  • Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database.
  • ACM digital library can be searched for full text journal articles and conference papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery.** A PowerPoint description of the ACM database and how to search is provided by ACM search tutorial.
  • IEEE Xplore provides full text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include journal articles, magazines, books, conference proceedings and standards.
  • Proquest Science & Technology combines access to full text articles with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
  • Engineering Collection covers all engineering fields with a focus on Australia. Material is sourced from the Engineers Australia collection.
  • Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Newspapers and magazines

These databases provide coverage of local and overseas newspapers.

Tips:

  • Use SFX to find full text
  • Choose “peer reviewed” option to find academic journal articles
  • Use “quotation marks” for exact phrases, “signal processing”
  • Use truncation character “*” to broaden the search, e.g. electrocardiogra* will search both electrocardiogram and electrocardiography
  • Look at an article’s reference list (cited articles) and citing articles to expand related resources and discover the research cycle

Video tutorials: