Leaderboard menu

UTS Library

Indigenous Studies: Databases

In this guide:

Databases are searchable collections of information resources like articles from journals, newspapers and magazines. Some databases are very focused on a topic like legal issues or health, while others are fairly broad.

Your first step in using a database is to find the one that matches your topic.

Browse Find Databases > Indigenous Studies to start. Or Ask a Librarian if you need more help.

Here are some key databases:

  • APA-FT
    Australian multidisciplinary database. 
  • A + Education
    Australian education
    Tutorial
  • Academic Search Complete
    international multidisciplinary
    Academic Search Premier Tutorial
  • Australian Heritage Bibliography
    The Australian Heritage Bibliography is a useful database about Indigenous, natural and historic environments, and also contains information about Australian heritage generally. It can be searched in conjuction with other Indigenous focussed databases if you use the Informit Databases interface and select both of these titles from the (long) list provided.
  • Informit Databases
    Australian database list that you can select from. Contains many specialist databases like Australian Education Index – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset, Attorney-General’s Information Service – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
    Subset and many more similar subsets that you can combine or search individually.
    Tutorial
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    International multidisciplinary