This is a study guide designed to help you find legal cases. Most of the resources mentioned relate to Australian case law, although there are also links to databases containing international legal cases. This study guide describes the formal citation of cases and then goes on to provide links to Australian law report series and to the two major online case citators, Casebase (LexisNexisAU) and Firstpoint(Westlaw AU).
GuidesLaw
Study guides
Encyclopaedias and Dictionaries
This study guide is designed to help you find legal encyclopaedias and dictionaries. These resources are available online via the LexisNexisAU and Westlaw AU database platforms. Legal encyclopaedias are are useful tool to help you find a narrative overview of an area of law including references to both case law and legislation. Legal dictionaries will help you define terms used in a legal context.
EndNote Law: Citations
This study guide has been designed to help you use the Endnote program to manage your referencing. The guide provides templates for citing a range of legal resources, including both primary and secondary legal materials. The guide demonstrates that you do not need to use all the fields found in an Endnote reference type- simply use the fields mentioned in the examples below. Note that the example are arranged in alphabetical order.
EndNote Law: Install
This study guide has been designed to bring together all the links you need in order to install and use Endnote for law. Apart from the link to downloading the Endnote proram itself, there are links- and instructions - to help you download the AGLC(3rd ed) referencing style into Endnote and also the Reference Types table which provides many more legal reference type templates.
A guide to installing Law reference styles for use with EndNote.
EndNote Law: Tips
This study guide has been designed to supplement the Endnote for Law classes run by the UTS Library. It provides information about the use of Endnote for law from creating your Endnote library and inserting Endnote references into a Word document, creating a bibliography and adding pinpoint references to your footnotes. This guide is not a substitute for attending an Endnote for Law class and UTS Library strongly suggests that you attend a class in order to be able to effectively use Endnote.
International Law
This study guide has been designed to help you find international law information. The guide consists of links to public domain websites that provide legal information from a range or countries around the world. Please note that UTS Library also subscribes to a number of databases that can provide you with international law resources- see the Law Databases study guide.
Law Databases
This study guide proves a list of a selection of legal databases to which the Librray subscribes. These databases contain Australian and international legal resources, including both primary and secondary materials. Each database is accompanied by a brief description of its scope to help you decide which database is right for your particular information need. If you need more assitance in selecting a database to meet your particular information need, enquire at the Research Help Desk of the UTS Library.
Law Journals
This study guide has been designed to provide information about locating law journals and journal articles. The UTS Library subscribes to both hard copy and electronic journals. Use this guide to find out the location of hard copy law journals and also link to databases that contain electronic versions of legal journals.
Legal Abbreviations
This study guide has been designed to bring together information about legal abbreviations. References to law reports or law journals use abbreviations for the name of the law report or journal. This guide provides a list of the most commonly used abbreviations to resources held in the UTS Library collection as well as links to more comprehensive lists of legal abbreviations. If you are still unable to locate your particular legal abbreviation, ask at the Research Help Desk at the UTS Library.
Legal Mobile Apps
This study guide provides a list of Australian legal apps available for mobile devices.
Legislation
This study guide has been designed to help you find information about Australian legislation, including bills, explanatory memoranda, second reading speeches, consolidated acts etc. The guide provides tables that help you to identify which resources are available online or in hard copy. Links are provided to the databases that provide online access to legislative materials. There is also a brief explanatory section that explains the terminolgy used in the life cycle of legislation.
Taxation Law
This study guide has been designed to help you find information about taxation law in Australia. It provides links to a wide range of resources including both public domain websites and subscription databases available via the UTS Library. The guide also provides information on the particular online resources available via subsciption databases, such as the Australin Master Tax Guide, available via Intelliconnect (CCH). The guide also provides links to a range of services available via the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) website.
