UTS Library

Foundations of Law 70102: Secondary Resources

In this guide:

SECONDARY LEGAL RESOURCES

LEGAL ENCYCLOPAEDIAS

Legal Encyclopaedias can be useful in that they provide an overview of a particular area of law, referring in footnotes to the relevant primary legal resources, eg cases, legislation. The content is arranged in numerical lists of Titles (subjects).

Product Database
Halsbury's Laws of Australia Lexis Advance Pacific
Laws of Australia

Westlaw AU

 

LEGAL DICTIONARIES

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (Lexis Advance Pacific) Found on the home page under the heading Publications - More.

Australian Law Dictionary

 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Although legal databases such as Lexis Advance Pacific, Westlaw AU and AustLii contain some journal artilces, if you are after legal journal articles then the best place to go is a Law journal database. UTS Library subscribes to 2 products: HeinOnline and AGIS Plus text.

HeinOnline is a big international journal database with a lot of Australian content. It searches the full text of journal articles so you tend to get a lot of hits per search. The database is largely full text. For article searching it is best to choose the Law Journal Library and then type in keywords. You can use the discovery pane on the left hand side of the screen to refine your search, such as by Edit Type (eg refereed) or by Country Published (eg Australia). Where an articles does not have full text in HeinOnline, use the SFX links to search for the full text in other databases.

AGIS Plus Text is a smaller 'boutique' database with Australian, New Zealand and Pacific content. It searches records, not full text, so you need to be more strategic with your search terms - less is more. You can search for case notes by using the search term 'case note' in your search. There is some full text, but you may need to use the SFX button to find the full text in another database.