UTS Library

60207 Research Methods

In this guide:

This study guide has been prepared for the students enrolled in subject 60207 Research Methods. It will help you get started on finding primary scientific literature specific to your topic.

You are asked to choose a topic and focus on a narrow question to research:

  1. The effect of ocean acidification on coral reefs
  2. Invasive species in Australia and the threat to native biodiversity
  3. The effect of the gut microbiome on mental health
  4. The relationship between diet and lifestyle factors and the development of type II diabetes.
  5. Phage therapy as an alternative to antibiotic treatment.
  6. Antibacterial resistance genes in bacteria and how they are transferred.

Here are some steps to get started

1. Understand your topic and breakdown to a specific research question

2. Identify the keywords and alternative words, develop your search terms/string

3. Do database searches, evaluate the search results and adjust the search terms/string

Top databases for scientific literature

  • Web of Science All Databases 
    An index database searching databases and other resources: Web of Science Core Collection, Medline, ISI Proceedings, Current Contents Connect.
  • SCOPUS  Online Tutorial 
    Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
  • Medline (OVID)   Online Tutorial 
    Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
  • Proquest Science and Technology
    Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.