UTS Library

Traditional Chinese Medicine: Databases

In this guide:

Find Databases tool

Use the Find Databases tool > Science >Traditional Chinese Medicine  for a full listing of databases on Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM).


Top Traditional Chinese Medicine Databases

Login using your UTS webmail details.

Journals, Magazines, Systematic Reviews and related publications

  • Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (OVID) 
    AMED indexes journal articles in the area of Complementary Medicine, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy.

  • Medline (OVID)Online Tutorial
    MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world back to 1946.
     
  • EMBASE: Excerpta Medica (OVID)
    EMBASE, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 7600 international journals and some conferences back to 1947. All MEDLINE records are included.
     
  • Cochrane Library (Wiley)        Online Tutorial 
    Indexes journal articles in the area of Complementary Medicine, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy.A collection of six databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
     
  • CINAHL (EBSCO) 
    Provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health dating back to 1981. CINAHL covers Nursing, Biomedicine, Health Sciences Librarianship, Alternative / Complementary Medicine, Consumer Health and 17 Allied Health disciplines. 
     
  • Proquest Health & Medicine 
    Search across 15 databases indexing journals, books, reports, conference papers, dissertations and theses, government publications, videos, etc in all aspects of health and medicine.
     
  • China Academic Journals (CNKI) 
    Offers access to information in Chinese academic journals including 99 Traditional Chinese Medicine journals and 22 journals on Traditional Chinese Medicine Herbs.

Tips: for an index which does not contain the full text, you can check if the library has access to the full text articles through SFX links. 

Drugs, Herbs and Supplements

  • Natural Standard 
    Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.
     
  • Micromedex 2.0 
    A reference database including AltMedDex, Diseasedex, Drugdex,Drug-reax, Herbal Medicines and Martindale.    

Anatomy and Physiology                                            

  • Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)  
    This online resource covers essential content from first and second year anatomy & physiology courses. It includes 19 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides that can be labelled, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
     
  • Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy 
    Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures: muscles, tendons, and joints making the same movements that they make in life. It contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, texture and mobility.