The Library has access to a variety of databases that are useful in the study of Planning, this page intends to direct you to the best of them.
Australian Resources
- Australian Public Affairs Full-Text [2]
Australian economic, social, political and cultural affairs.
Informit Tutorial [3] - Local Government planning and Environment NSW
[4]Planning Law - All relevant legislation for matters in planning and environment.
International
- Science Direct [5]
Hosts a number of full-text planning journals, including: Habitat International, Landscape and Urban Planning, Cities, Journal of Housing Economics and more.
Science Direct Tutorial [6] - Taylor and Francis Online Journals
[7]International database of the publications of Taylor & Francis, has urban studies content including a few Australian journals. - Ebsco host [8]
Hosts a number of database collections. Recommended are Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier & Econlit.
Demonstration of Academic Search Premier [9] - Scopus [10]
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It features plenty of information about planning.
Scopus Tutorials [11] - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
[12]indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
Avery Tutorial [13]
Legal
- Cases - Australian
Casebase [14] / Firstpoint [15] / AustLII [16] - Cases - International
Westlaw [17]/ Lexis.com [18] - Journal articles - Australia
AGIS plus Text (Attorney General's Information Service) [19] - Journal articles - international
Westlaw [20] / Hein Online [21]
For assistance is using these databases visit the Research Help Desk.
Also see the Law Study Guides [22]
Research Databases
- Current Contents [23]
Current Contents has tables of contents across all academic disciplines. - Web of Science [24]
Web of Science consists of the citation indexes for Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Date range is from 1992 onwards.
Newspapers
- Newsbank Full text newspapers [25]
Sydney Morning Herald and other Australian and International newspapers. - Factiva [26]
International and Australian news and business journals. Company information.
Factiva Tutorial - Finding Company info [27]
Factiva Tutorial - Finding Newspaper Articles [28]
