Find databases tool
Use the Find Databases tool > Communication > Sound and Music Design for a full listing of databases on Sound and Music.
If you are having trouble finding what you need with any of the databases below why not try our Find Articles search engine or Google Scholar - these search engines combine many databases together, and draw from literally millions of articles to provide you with the best chance of finding that elusive article.
- Taylor and Francis Journals 
This database has a good cross section of cultural and techinical literature on music and sound design, and is probably one of the top 3 or 4 databases we have for this subject area.
- SAGE Journals Online
SAGE is an all peer reviewed, all full text database that is great on art and cultural theory, including music.
A huge multidisciplinary database, and is a good place to look if you have an obscure search. Also contains PHD theses.
- IEEE Xplore  (IT focused database)
Another technical database, with information about aspects of engineering, including sound engineering.
- ACM  (IT focused database)
This database is a technical database, and can provide articles about the latest research in digital recording techniques and software.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, and has a few thousand article on music.
- Academic Search Complete 
Academic Search Complete ius a multi-disciplinary database with a nice mix of art and cultural material. It contains the journal titles Journal of Popular Culture and Popular Music and Society. You can combine this databases with other EBSCO databases like Wilson Art Full Text  via the EBSCOhost  database platform.
- Academic Search Complete Tutorial 
- Rock's backpages the ultimate library of rock music writing and journalism
Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day. Contains a lot of interviews with rock acts you won't find for free online.</span>
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press)
This database contains 50,000 tracks from every continent, containing genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz.