UTS Library
Published on UTS Library (http://www.lib.uts.edu.au)

Home > Australian Companies

Australian Companies [1]

 Australian Company information

  • Australian Bureau of statistics (ABS) [2]: statistics on population, GDP, internet usage, religion, tourism, inflation, income, indigenous, labour force, crime.
     
  • ASIC: Australian Securites and Investments Commission [3]: ASIC is an independent Commonwealth Government body that regulates financial services. The main roles of ASIC are:
    • Register companies and managed investment schemes,
    • Grant Australian financial services licences and Australian credit licences,
    • Register auditors and liquidators
    • maintain publicly accessible registers of information about companies, financial services licensees and credit licensees; and,
    • Make rules aimed at ensuring the integrity of financial markets.
  • ASX: Australian Securities Exchange [4]: The Australian Stock Exchange is a marketplace for the trading of Australian and international shares and other financial instruments. It provides updates regarding the price of shares and other company information.
  • Business Source Complete [5]: Contains peer reviewed journal articles on all aspects of international business.
  • Company360 [6]: Annual reports of Australian companies along with additional company data.
  • DatAnalysis [7] and FinAnalysis [8]: Detailed Australian company information data including:
    • Corporate history and listing details
    • Cross directorships and committee composition
    • Substantial shareholders’ trading history
    • Takeover details from 1995
    • Corporate Calendar for key events
    • Industry comparisons
    • Price history and graphs
    • 10 years of financial data
    • ASX Announcements from 1998 in PDF
    • Over 45,000 annual reports
  • EIU: Economist Intelligence Unit [9]: Contains products such as Viewswire, Risk briefing, Executive briefing, Industry reports and forecasts.
  • Factiva [10]: Contains international newspapers and comprehensive Industry reports.
  • IBIS World [11]: Contains industry research reports and provides strategic insights and analysis on over 500 Australian industries. It has Australia’s most comprehensive selection of reports, covering the entire economy — from Accounting Services to Zoological Gardens. Each report consists of thirty to forty pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast, major industry participants and more.
  • MintGlobal [12]: Company financials for large companies
    • Financial strength indicators
    • Directors and contacts
    • Original filings/images
    • Stock data
    • Detailed corporate and ownership structures
    • Industry research
    • Business and company-related news
    • Mergers and acquisitions deals and rumours
  • Newsbank [13]: Full text of overseas and Australian newspapers with comprehensive coverage of Australian local press.
  • Trove [14]: Australian library holdings and online resources including books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives.

Source URL (retrieved on 19/06/2013 - 20:37): http://www.lib.uts.edu.au/guides/company-information/australian-companies

Links:
[1] http://www.lib.uts.edu.au/guides/company-information/australian-companies
[2] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2551809
[3] http://www.asic.gov.au/
[4] http://www.asx.com.au/
[5] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1892870
[6] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2486668
[7] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1553306
[8] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1495926
[9] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1823139
[10] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1612204
[11] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2722954
[12] http://www.lib.uts.edu.au/databases/search_databases.py?letter=G
[13] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1844863
[14] http://trove.nla.gov.au/