This page aims to show you the best databases to use for the various technical, creative and cultural aspects of Animation.
Creative and Cultural
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic is a full-text database, and has a mixture of technical and cultural articles with a special emphasis on computer animation.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete has a large collection of articles on animation, covering both technical and cultural subjects.
JSTOR is a full text database. It contains a large, primarily culturally focused collection on animation, with some technical content.
- Project Muse
Project Muse is a full text database. It has a medium sized but high quality collection of cultural articles on animation.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels 
More than 20,000 pages of alternative comics, including such groundbreaking series as Love & Rockets,Cerebus, Wimmen's Comix, Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers, and more.
- ACM Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery is a large collection of citations and full text. It focuses on research in the technical aspects of computing, including animation.
Ful text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- Computers and Applied Sciences Complete 
Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
- CRC Netbase 
Contains some interesting ebooks on computer game development
- Academic Search Complete  - Tick the 'image quick view' box before searching to return only matches that contain diagrams or illustrations
- ArtStor  - Is a purely image database. It doesn't contain animation cells but does contain art and design content that may inspire you.
- Britannica Image Quest  - Is a mighty database containing an enormous resource of images you can reuse in your assignments. It contains pictures from Getty, The British Museum, the Encyclopedia Britannica and many more.
- Proquest Discovery  - Is the best superdatabase for design, and has an image restriction feature available from advanced search under 'figures and tables'. It has a 'save to presentation' option also.