Find Databases tool
Use Find Databases [2] on the library homepage to view a more extensive database list with descriptions to help you decide which is the most relevant for your current assignment.
Full descriptions for each database are available from the More Info icon.
Statistics
Statistical information is used as evidence to support your findings or viewpoint. It can be in the form of tables, figures, charts or spreadsheets taken from a reliable source.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics. [3] This is a government organisation providing free access to a wide range of Australian statistical data on various themes from IT, environmental issues to financial statistics. It also provides links to International statistics from Other Statistical Agencies.
- OECD iLibrary [4]. This statistical database gives access to a broad range of interactive and comparative data for OECD and some non OECD countries.
- STATnetBASE [5]. This online library meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines. From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data.
Standards
- Australian Standards Online [6] provides the complete collection of current Australian standards.
- ASTM Standards Source Online [7] provides 12,000 plus standards covering metals, petroleum, construction, the environment and more.
- British Standards Online. [8] UTS Library has full text access to the BSI online: Construction-general standards module only.
- IEEE standards. [9] Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. Standards available from IEEE Xplore database. ** IEEE Xplore provides a series of recommended training modules [10].
Scholarly and professional articles
The Yale University website [11] explains of the difference between academic and popular sources. The decision to use popular or academic sources will depend on your target audience and your topic. A specialised academic topic will require scholarly resources, sometimes called peer reviewed [12] resources.
- Academic Search Complete [13] is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database.
- Scopus [14] is a comprehensive abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- ACM digital library [15] can be searched for full text journal articles and conference papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery.** A PowerPoint description of the ACM database and how to search is provided by ACM search tutorial. [16]
- Proquest Science & Technology [17] combines access to full text articles with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
- Engineering Collection [18] covers all engineering fields with a focus on Australia. Material is sourced from the Engineers Australia collection.
Newspapers and magazines
These databases provide coverage of local and overseas newspapers.
