UTS Library
Published on UTS Library (http://www.lib.uts.edu.au)

Home > Books

Books [1]

The Catalogue [2] provides access to the library's books, journals and DVDs. The easiest way to search the catalogue is by doing a keywords [3] search eg: alternative medicine.

Use the subject heading [4] option to find more material.
For example:

Biology Biotechnology Medicine TCM
  • Biochemistry [5]
  • Biodiversity [6]
  • Biology [7]
  • Biosphere [8]
  • Cytology [9]
  • Genetics [10]
  • Genomics [11]
  • Immunology [12]
  • Metabolisim [13]
  • Microbiology [14]
  • Molecular Biology [15]
  • Parasitology [16]
  • Virology [17]
  • Agricultural Biotechnology [18]
  • Biochemical Engineering [19]
  • Biochip [20]
  • Bioreactors [21]
  • Bioremediation [22]
  • Biotechnology [23]
  • Biotechnology Industries [24]
  • Cloning [25]
  • Food Biotechnology [26]
  • Genetic Engineering [27]
  • Industrial Microbiology [28]
  • Microbial Biotechnology [29]
  • Sewage Purification Biological Treatment [30]
  • Plant Biotechnology [31]
  • Pharmaceutical Biotechnology [32]
  • Vaccines Biotechnology [33] 
  • Alternative Medicine [34]
  • Cardiology [35]
  • Clinical Medicine [36]
  • Dermatology [37]
  • Diabetes [38]
  • Endocrinology [39]
  • Epidemiology [40]
  • Heamatology [41]
  • Histology [42]
  • Human Anatomy [43]
  • Immunology [44]
  • Medical Bacteriology [45]
  • Medicine, Preventive [46]
  • Neurology [47]
  • Neurosciences [48]
  • Oncology [49]
  • Parasitology [16]
  • Pathology [50]
  • Pharmacology [51]
  • Physiology [52]
  • Physiology, Pathological [53]
  • Sports Medicine [54]
  • Therapeutics [55]
  • Acupuncture [56]
  • Acupressure [57]
  • Alternative Medicine [58]
  • Herbs Therapeutic Use [59]
  • Materia Medica, China [60]
  • Medicine, Chinese [61]
  • Medicine, Oriental [62]
  • Medicinal Plants, China [63]
  • Moxa [64]
  • Pharmacology, China [65]
  • Qi Qong [66]
  • Yin Yang [67]

Tips: Most Medical and Bioscience books are located on level 4, please look at our guide on getting shelfwise [68].

Reference Books

For definitions and explanations of your subject, look in dictionaries, encyclopaedias and other reference resources.

  • 570.3 HEND (ED.14) Henderson's dictionary of biology [69]
  • 610.3 GLOS Dictionary of biomedical sciences [70]
  • 610.3 MOSY Mosby's medical dictionary. [71]
  • 610.3 STED Stedman's medical dictionary. [72]
  • 610.3 MEDI (ED.2) Webster's New World medical dictionary [73]
  • 615.503 NAVA The encyclopedia of complementary and alternative medicine [74]
  • 615.321 WEEY An illustrated Dictionary of Chinese Medicinal herbs [75]
  • 615.321 JOIN Chinese herbal medicine made easy : natural and effective remedies for common illnesses [76]
  • 615.951 WISM A practical dictionary of Chinese medicine [77]
  • 615.503 JONA Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine [78]
  • 615.321 SKID (ED.3) Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements [79]
  • 615.321 HSUO (1-2) The Chemical constituents of oriental herbs [80].
  • 615.892 NGUY The dictionary of acupuncture & moxibustion : a practical guide to traditional Chinese medicine [81]
  • 615.1151 PHAR (2000 ED.) Pharmacopoeia of the People's Republic of China [82]
  • 616.01 TOPL Topley & Wilson's microbiology and microbial infections. [83]
  • 660.603 BAIS Biotechnology from A to Z [84]
  • 660.603 NILL Glossary of biotechnology and nanobiotechnology terms [85]

 

Also, there are some electronic books available online:

  • An Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica [86]
  • Black's medical dictionary [87]
  • Collins Dictionary of Biology [88]
  • Collins Dictionary of Medicine [89]
  • Current Protocols in Molecular Biology [90]
  • Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary [91]
  • Drug Discovery and Evaluation [92]
  • Encyclopedia of Cancer [93]
  • Encyclopedia Of Traditional Chinese Medicines [94] (6 volume set) 
  • Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Informatics [95]
  • Encyclopedia of Neuroscience [96]
  • Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation [97]
  • Encyclopedia of Pain [98]
  • Encyclopedia of Parasitology [99] 
  • Encyclopedic Reference of Genomics and Proteomics in Molecular Medicine [100]
  • Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology [101]
  • The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease [102]
  • The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine [103]
  • The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume [104]
  • The Springer Index of Viruses [105]
  • Oxford Dictionary of Biology [106]
  • Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology [107]
  • Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary [108] 

Source URL (retrieved on 23/05/2013 - 10:41): http://www.lib.uts.edu.au/guides/science/medicine-biosciences/books

Links:
[1] http://www.lib.uts.edu.au/guides/science/medicine-biosciences/books
[2] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/
[3] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/X
[4] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d
[5] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Biochemistry&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dBiochemistry
[6] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Biodiversity&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[7] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Biology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dBiology
[8] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Biosphere&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[9] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=cytology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dcytology
[10] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Genetics&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dGenetics
[11] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Genomics&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dGenomics
[12] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Immunology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dImmunology
[13] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=metabolism&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dmetabolism
[14] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Microbiology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dMicrobiology
[15] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=molecular+biology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dmolecular+biology
[16] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Parasitology&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[17] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Virology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dVirology
[18] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Agricultural+biotechnology&search_code=a
[19] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Biochemical+engineering&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[20] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Biochips&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[21] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Bioreactors&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[22] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Bioremediation&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[23] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Biotechnology&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[24] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Biotechnology+industries&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[25] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Cloning&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[26] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Food+Biotechnology&search_code=a
[27] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Genetic+engineering&search_code=a
[28] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Industrial+microbiology&search_code=a
[29] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Microbial+biotechnology&search_code=a
[30] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Sewage+Purification+Biological+treatment&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[31] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Plant+Biotechnology&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[32] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Pharmaceutical+biotechnology&search_code=a
[33] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/d?Vaccines+Biotechnology&search_code=a
[34] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=alternative+medicine&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dalternative+medicine
[35] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Cardiology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dcardiology
[36] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Clinical+medicine&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dclinical+medicine
[37] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=dermatology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=ddermatology
[38] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Diabetes&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=ddiabetes
[39] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=endocrinology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dendocrinology
[40] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Epidemiology&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[41] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Hematology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dHaematology
[42] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Histology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dHematology
[43] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=human+anatomy&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=danatomy
[44] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Immunology&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[45] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Medical+bacteriology&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[46] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Medicine%2C+Preventive&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dMedicine%2C+Preventive.
[47] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=neurology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dneurology
[48] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Neurosciences&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[49] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Oncology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=doncology
[50] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Pathology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dpathology
[51] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Pharmacology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dpharmacology
[52] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=physiology&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dphysiology
[53] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Physiology%2C+Pathological&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[54] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Sports+Medicine&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dSports+Medicine
[55] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=d&searcharg=Therapeutics&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dTherapeutics
[56] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Acupuncture
[57] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=acupressure
[58] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Alternative%20Medicine
[59] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Herbs%20Therapeutic%20Use
[60] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Materia%20Medica,%20China
[61] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Medicine,%20Chinese
[62] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Medicine,%20Oriental
[63] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Medicinal%20Plants,%20China
[64] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Moxa
[65] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Pharmacology,%20China
[66] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Qi%20Qong
[67] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/d?SEARCH=Yin%20Yang
[68] http://www.lib.uts.edu.au/find/where-it
[69] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2369515
[70] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/Xdictionary++biomedical&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ/Xdictionary++biomedical&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBKEY=dictionary%20%20biomedical/1%2C5%2C5%2CB/frameset&FF=Xdictionary++biomedical&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&1%2C1%2C
[71] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/Xmedical+dictionary&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ/Xmedical+dictionary&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBKEY=medical%20dictionary/1%2C104%2C104%2CB/frameset&FF=Xmedical+dictionary&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&9%2C9%2C
[72] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tStedman%7B174%7Ds+medical+dictionary+/tstedmans+medical+dictionary/1%2C2%2C6%2CB/frameset&FF=tstedmans+medical+dictionary&5%2C%2C5
[73] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1792548
[74] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1747792
[75] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=An+illustrated+Dictionary+of+Chinese+Medicinal+herbs+&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dstatistics
[76] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1580153
[77] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/dMedicine%2C+Chinese./dmedicine+chinese/1%2C60%2C761%2CB/frameset&FF=dmedicine+chinese+dictionaries&5%2C%2C7
[78] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1894071
[79] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2005479
[80] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=chemical+constituents+of+oriental+herbs&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tPharmacopoeia+of+the+People%27s+Republic+of+China
[81] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/dacupuncture/dacupuncture/1%2C69%2C524%2CB/frameset&FF=dacupuncture+dictionaries&1%2C%2C2
[82] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1477788
[83] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tmicrobiology+and+microbial+infections/tmicrobiology+and+microbial+infections/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tmicrobiology+and+microbial+infections&1%2C%2C2
[84] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/XBiotechnology+from+A+to+Z+&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ/XBiotechnology+from+A+to+Z+&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBKEY=Biotechnology%20from%20A%20to%20Z%20/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=XBiotechnology+from+A+to+Z+&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&1%2C1%2C
[85] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=X&searcharg=Glossary+of+biotechnology+and+nanobiotechnology+terms+&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=XBiotechnology+directory+
[86] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tAn+Illustrated+Chinese+Materia+Medica/tillustrated+chinese+materia+medica/1%2C4%2C5%2CB/frameset&FF=tillustrated+chinese+materia+medica&2%2C%2C2
[87] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2322330
[88] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2322356
[89] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Collins+Dictionary+of+Medicine+&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=t+Dictionary+of+classical+and+theoretical+mathematics+
[90] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1503246
[91] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tDorland%27s+Illustrated+Medical+Dictionary/tdorlands+illustrated+medical+dictionary/1%2C1%2C6%2CB/frameset&FF=tdorlands+illustrated+medical+dictionary&4%2C%2C6
[92] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tDrug+Discovery+and+Evaluation+/tdrug+discovery+and+evaluation/1%2C3%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=tdrug+discovery+and+evaluation+pharmacological+assays&1%2C1%2C
[93] http://www.springerlink.com.ezproxy.lib.uts.edu.au/content/q47720/?p=3984323db9a3461da18b067be8ebcc31&pi=5
[94] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/t?SEARCH=Encyclopedia%20Of%20Traditional%20Chinese%20Medicines
[95] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search/t?SEARCH=Encyclopedia+of+Genetics%2C+Genomics%2C+Proteomics+and+Informatics&searchscope=3&submit=Submit
[96] http://www.springerlink.com.ezproxy.lib.uts.edu.au/content/w536mt/?p=3984323db9a3461da18b067be8ebcc31&pi=8
[97] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tEncyclopedia+of+Medical+Devices+and+Instrumentation+/tencyclopedia+of+medical+devices+and+instrumentation/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tencyclopedia+of+medical+devices+and+instrumentation&2%2C%2C2
[98] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Encyclopedia+of+Pain+&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tEncyclopedia+of+Neuroscience+
[99] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tEncyclopedia+of+Parasitology+/tencyclopedia+of+parasitology/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tencyclopedia+of+parasitology&2%2C%2C2
[100] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Encyclopedic+Reference+of+Genomics+and+Proteomics+in+Molecular+Medicine+&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tEncyclopedia+of+Genetics%2C+Genomics%2C+Proteomics+and+Informatics
[101] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Encyclopedic+Reference+of+Immunotoxicology+&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tEncyclopedic+Reference+of+Genomics+and+Proteomics+in+Molecular+Medicine+
[102] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/tThe+Cambridge+Historical+Dictionary+of+Disease+/tcambridge+historical+dictionary+of+disease/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tcambridge+historical+dictionary+of+disease&2%2C%2C2
[103] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b2209696
[104] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/Xmedical+encyclopedia&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ/Xmedical+encyclopedia&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBKEY=medical%20encyclopedia/1%2C40%2C40%2CB/frameset&FF=Xmedical+encyclopedia&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&7%2C7%2C
[105] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3/?searchtype=t&searcharg=The+Springer+Index+of+Viruses+&searchscope=3&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tEncyclopedic+Reference+of+Immunotoxicology+
[106] http://find.lib.uts.edu.au/search.do?R=OPAC_b1845006
[107] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S2?/Xbiology&searchscope=2&b=&l=&Da=&Db=&p=&m=&SORT=D/Xbiology&searchscope=2&b=&l=&Da=&Db=&p=&m=&SORT=D&SUBKEY=biology/1%2C13%2C13%2CB/frameset&FF=Xbiology&searchscope=2&b=&l=&Da=&Db=&p=&m=&SORT=D&1%2C1%2C
[108] http://linus.lib.uts.edu.au/search~S3?/Xmedical+dictionary&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ/Xmedical+dictionary&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBKEY=medical%20dictionary/1%2C104%2C104%2CB/frameset&FF=Xmedical+dictionary&searchscope=3&SORT=DZ&4%2C4%2C