UTS Library


Early Years (1965 - 1976)

1975 Library Card Catalogue with TinaDuring the early years of the University of Technology Sydney, when it was known as the New South Wales Institute of Technology (1965 - 1988), library services were provided through the libraries of the Sydney Technical College (STC) and the East Sydney Technical College (ESTC).
In 1971 a new Library was opened in the Dunbar Building, Gore Hill, followed in 1972 by the James N. Kirby Library (Brickfield Hill) in the Anthony Horden Building in George Street, and in 1976 by the Broadway Library located on the top floor of Building 4, Harris Street, Broadway. These early libraries represented the dispersed nature of the University's urban campuses and its rapid growth as a vibrant tertiary institution.

Markets Library (1984 - )

Level 2 Library Entrance Haymarket CampusOfficially opened in 1984, the Markets Library was the University's first purpose-built library. Originally planned to replace the Brickfield Hill Library, it was large enough to also house the Broadway Library. Located on the historic site of Sydney Markets, architect Philip Cox effectively merged elements of the old brickwork and the bell tower of the Sydney Markets into the new building. Cox's spectacular design, notable for its sunlit central atrium and historic bell tower standing sentinel over its entrance, was a signal of the University's growing maturity. In 2002 the Markets Library was renamed the Blake Library (City Campus) in honour of past UTS Vice-Chancellor, Professor Tony Blake.

Kuring-gai Campus Library (1990 - 2015)

Kuring-gai Campus LibraryIn 1990 the newly formed University of Technology Sydney absorbed the Kuring-gai College of Advanced Education and the Institute of Technical and Adult Teacher Education of the Sydney College of Advanced Education. From the libraries of these antecedent institutions, the George Muir Library (Kuring-gai Campus) was formed, named after the founding principal of the Kuring-gai College of Advanced Education. It was housed in the unique bushland Kuring-gai campus designed by architect, David Don Turner and landscape architect, Bruce Mackenzie. The campus won the 1978 Sulman Prize for architecture and was widely recognised as a notable example of ‘Brutalist’ architecture. Kuring-gai Campus closed it's doors on the 27 November, 2015. You can read more about the closure of the Kuring-gai Campus from the UTS Newsroom.

Library Retrieval System (2014 - )

Library Retrieval SystemThe Library Retrieval System (LRS) marked a new stage in the history of UTS Library. Opened in 2014, the LRS is the single largest piece of technology on campus, and it enables the Library to rethink how it offers services, collections and study spaces to clients now and into the future. Through automated, high-density storage the University can preserve and grow its rich print collections established over more than thirty years, and continue to make them accessible to support future scholarship. Even as the University enters a new era, print collections remain an integral part of an academic library. However, new modes of learning, research and interacting with information are emerging and it is important libraries evolve from "warehouses of books" to vibrant, multi-purpose, technology-enriched spaces enabling the creation of new knowledge. 

UTS Central 

UTS CentralThe Library Retrieval System was the first phase of a major project to re-imagine the UTS Library. The new UTS Library forms a key part of the UTS Central project, which will see the redevelopment of Building 2 on the corner of Broadway and Jones St. Bringing the Library to this location places it at the heart of the campus and will transform the library into the cultural core of the University. The Future Library will be a transformational space that inspires and elevates, encouraging creativity, curiosity and the pursuit of new knowledge. Learn more about the project and follow the latest news at UTS Central.

University Librarians

There have been five University Librarians at UTS Library:

  • 1972 - 1989 Dorothy Peake
  • 1990 - 1999 Steve O'Connor
  • 2000 - 2011 Dr Alex Byrne
  • 2011 - 2017 Mal Booth
  • 2018 +        Michael Gonzalez