UTS Library

Advanced Masters of Business Administration: Company & Industry

In this guide:

The library has a fairly comprehensive Company and Industry Study Guide.

The following databases are a selection particularly useful for Advanced MBA students, as they take a particular look at strategic focus.

  • DatAnalysis (Morningstar) - Key financial and management information for ASX listed companies since 1990, including company profiles and announcements. Updated daily.
  • Factiva.com - Provides access to 8,000 sources from around the world including all major newspapers and business and trade publications, updated daily. Factiva also contains company reports via the Companies / Markets tab.. Note that only 20 people can use Factiva simultaneously.
  • Frost & Sullivan - In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation. Covers 1998 to present, updated as new reports are produced.
  • Gartner - Industry-leading consulting firm providing independent research and analysis on a wide range of Information Technology topics. Gartner Core Research is an online Information Technology database. Research is conducted by highly skilled industry analysts producing over 150,000 documents. Providing insightful and practical advice from around the world and covering a varied set of topics including Asset management, Web Services, Emerging trends and technologies and Regulatory Compliance. Note that UTS does not subscribe to all Gartner's content.
  • Ibis World - Detailed reports include Australian Industry Reports, Australian Risk Ratings Reports and Australian Company Reports. Also includes some New Zealand industry reports.
  • Marketline Advantage (Datamonitor) - Interactive research portal, providing access to a range of company, industry, country and financial data & reports for every major marketplace in the world.
  • Passport (Euromonitor) - Key business intelligence on countries, markets and companies. Includes demographic, economic + country data, retail sales data, consumer market size + product information.