UTS Library

Statistics: Multi-subject

In this guide:

Australian:

  • Data Australia Basic demographic and socio-economic data on Australia including business, communication, community, culture, education, emergencies, employment, environment, finance, geography, government, health, history, indigenous, industry, information communications-technology, law, measurement, news, planning, politics, procurement, property, recreation, safety, sciences, society, technology, tourism and transport.
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) Australian data on the economy, environment & energy, people, industry, and regional statisti
  • ABS Historical Census Data Census data from the 2011, 2006, 2001 and 1996, also limited data from the 1911 to 1991.
  • ABS Basic Community Profiles from Census 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011, 2016.
  • ABS Microdata ABS collects data from a range of sources including surveys, censuses and administrative collections. This data is used to create microdata files, which contain detailed information about individuals, businesses and other groups. Within a microdata file, each record or row of the dataset represents information relating to one person, household or business. The Australian Bureau of Statistics maintains a List of available and expected microdata and Published Research Using Microdata.

              Types of Microdata

  • TableBuilder is an online tool for creating tables, graphs and maps using ABS microdata. The TableBuilder User Guide provides detailed information about both systems, including practical examples and video tutorials.
  • Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs) are microdata files containing individual responses, which have been treated to protect privacy and confidentiality using a range of statistical techniques
  • Detailed microdata files are the ABS's most detailed unit record data and have been designed specifically for use within the DataLab environment.

ABS Microdata is freely available to University of Technology, Sydney researchers under   the ABS/Universities Australia Agreement. Access options are available on How to Apply for Microdata. Because use, please consult Responsible Use of ABS Microdata, User Guide. Any inquiry please:

International:

  • CEIC Data provides time series data by sector and country to enable macroeconomic analysis, trend monitoring and economic forecasting. It allows users to create charts, or download data to Microsoft Excel for in-depth analysis.
  • GeoHive: Global Statistics Population statistics, Country data, Economic data
  • United Nations Statistics Division Demographic and Social Statistics – population; birth & death; migration; marriage & divorce; families & households; housing; time use; violence against women; health & disability; learning & education; economic activity; social security & welfare; income & poverty; and public order & safety.
  • UNICEF Country Statistics Health, education, child protection and HIV/AIDS
  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics Cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
  • Eurostat The statistical office of the European Union. It provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
  • World DataBank (Data) Agriculture & rural development; aid effectiveness; climate change, economic policy & external debt; education; energy & mining; environment; financial sector; gender; health; infrastructure; labour & social protection; poverty; private sector; public sector; science & technology; social development; and urban development.
  • UK National Statistics Online Agriculture & environment; business & energy; children, education & skills; crime & justice; economy; government; health & social care; labour market; people & places; population; travel & transport.
  • US: Data.gov (Data) General government; business & economics; defence and international relations; environment, energy, & agriculture; family, home, & community; geospatial data; health & nutrition; jobs & education; public safety & law; science & technology; travel, transportation, & recreation.
  • OECD iLibrary Country Reports & Tables. Coverage includes economics, development & social issues, transport and science & technology.
  • International Statistical Agencies A to Z listing of statistical agencies world-wide.
  • OFFSTATS - Official Statistics on the Web Database from the University of Auckland lists official statistics sites around the world arranged by country, region or subject.
  • Statista Media & advertising; Internet; technology & telecommunication; consumer goods & Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG); administration & social services; agriculture; chemicals & resources; construction metal; e-commerce & mail order trade; energy & utilities; finance, insurance & real estate; health & pharmaceuticals; international; life – personality & behaviour/relationships; retail & trade; services; society; sports & recreation; transport & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality.     

See also:

Research > Data Archive