UTS Library

UTS ePRESS releases new book - The Power of Conferences

The Power of Conferences

With a focus on ten notable Australians, including Nobel Laureates Professor Barry Marshall and Professor Brian Schmidt, former Chief Scientist, Professor Ian Chubb, and Parliamentarian, the Honourable Linda Burney, The Power of Conferences explores the deep and lasting impact of conferences on the development and success of Australian luminaries. Each chapter features a reflection from a leader in Australian academia, politics, or community service, on the significant effects conferences have had on their personal and professional achievements.

From the cultivation of new networks and collaborations to the chance “aha!” moments of innovation and research breakthroughs, these leaders describe the conferences that have enabled them and others to go on to create real and lasting social change.

The book includes key reflections from:

Mary Bebawy
Associate Professor in Pharmacy, UTS

Pia Winberg
Honorary Fellow, School of Medicine, University of Wollongong

Bill Bowtell AO
Exectuive Director, Pacific Friends of the Global Fund

Ian Frazer AC
Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Queensland

Martin Green
Scientia Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of New South Wales

Tom Calma
Professor, Chancellor of the University of Canberra

Barry Marshall AC 
Professor of Clinical Microbiology, University of Western Australia

Ian Chubb AC
former Chief Scientist of Australia

Brian Schmidt AC
Vice-Chancellor of the Australian National University

Linda Burney
Honourable Member of the Australian Parliament for Barton