UTS Library

Lynda.com becomes LinkedIn Learning on 11 September 2019

When is Lynda.com being upgraded to LinkedIn Learning?

  • From 10pm Tuesday 10 September, Lynda.com will be unavailable while upgrades are taking place. This may take up to 18 hours.
  • From Wednesday 11 September UTS students and staff will start to have access to LinkedIn Learning.
  • All your learning activities and history from Lynda.com will automatically transfer to LinkedIn Learning.

 Why is LinkedIn Learning better?

  • It delivers the same amazing content from Lynda.com, plus it provides a personalised and flexible learning experience in a new environment.
  • Lynda.com is being upgraded to LinkedIn Learning to provide a personalised learning experience for everyone.
  • If you want you can link it to your existing LinkedIn profile (only if you choose to).
  • It can be accessed anywhere and is still free for all UTS students and staff to help you achieve your career development goals. 

What do I need to do? From Wednesday 11 September: 

  • Existing Lynda.com users will be sent a link to your UTS email address to activate your account.  
  • New Lynda.com users can also go to the LinkedIn Learning Portal and select "Activate a new account here" button.  
  • Download the LinkedIn Learning app on your mobile to start learning on the go!
  • Existing users (those with a current active account), will receive an email from LinkedIn 2 days before. Follow links in this email to activate your account. (Please note as LinkedIn is a US based company the email displays dates in the US format. The date of the upgrade is 10th September).
  • Product banners will also appear 2 days before advising users of the change. 
  • For existing users follow up emails will be sent 7 and 14 days after the upgrade reminding users to activate their account on the new platform.
  • All account settings (e.g. saved videos) should migrate seamlessly. The exception being shared playlists. Playlists will become Learner Collections. You can find more information about playlists via LinkedIn.com.
  • LinkedIn Learning users do NOT have to create or use their professional LinkedIn Account to access the online tutorials.

 

 

Comments

I would like to know more

Student's picture
Student, 2 months ago

I would like to know more about just how LinkedIn will be using and protecting my data and the privacy and data management details in the agreement between UTS and LinkedIn, especially given the concerns raised about privacy implications eg https://www.oif.ala.org/oif/?p=17968.

I would like to know whether

Staff's picture
Staff, 2 months ago

I would like to know whether UTS Library users’ “learning activities and history from Lynda.com will automatically transfer to LinkedIn Learning ”only on an individual’s activation of the new account, or whether this has already taken place without any voluntary acceptance or consent by individual users.

Hi

Belinda's picture
Belinda, 1 month ago

Hi

Your existing Lynda.com history will transfer automatically. You will need to activate a new Linkedin Learning account, however, to start using the video content (which is the same as Lynda.com), and to connect to or create a Linkedin profile (if you wished to do so, it is not necessary to use Linkedin Learning video content). 

There is information on this page about activatating a Learning account, privacy and connecting your Learning account to a Linkedin profile: https://www.lib.uts.edu.au/help/ask-librarian

If you wish to delete your learner history, or to disconnect a Learning account from a Linkedin profile, you can contact Linkedin Learning directly: https://www.linkedin.com/help/learning/ask or send an email request via UTS Library using our Ask a Librarian email: https://www.lib.uts.edu.au/help/ask-librarian

 

Post comments